Would you like to chat with our customer service?

Online Chat Hours

Monday - Friday:

7:30 am - 7 pm (EST)
8 am - noon (EST)

Skip Navigation LinksCommunity News > News > Recent News Details

Orrstown Bank Awards 16 Scholarships to Local Students

Company Release : September 26, 2011

Thomas R. Quinn, Jr., President & Chief Executive Officer of Orrstown Bank (NASDAQ: ORRF) is pleased to announce the 2011 recipients of the fifteen Orrstown Bank Foundation $1,000 scholarships and our second $1,500 Kenneth R. Shoemaker Leadership Scholarship. These young men and women were chosen for their academic achievement, test scores, service to school and community, leadership, potential, and financial need. Many of the students and their families joined Mr. Quinn and Mr. Ken Shoemaker, Orrstown Bank Foundation President, for a reception at the Bank’s King Street, Shippensburg office on July 28th. 

Mr. Quinn commented, “The scholarship committee read through more than 75 applications this year before choosing these sixteen outstanding students to receive Orrstown Bank scholarships. We are proud to contribute to their continuing education and look forward to helping even more students achieve their dream of a college degree in the future.”

The 2011 Kenneth R. Shoemaker Leadership Scholarship Recipient:

Benjamin Shenk is this year’s recipient of the Kenneth R. Shoemaker Leadership Scholarship. A graduate of Shippensburg Area Senior High School, Ben will attend Shippensburg University in the fall.

“Ben is an outstanding young man and was the clear choice for the Leadership Scholarship. It is important for Orrstown Bank and the Foundation to support our future leaders, and I look forward to seeing the positive impact Ben and the rest of our scholarship recipients will have on our communities,” remarked Mr. Shoemaker.

The 2011 Orrstown Bank Foundation Scholarship Recipients:

Sarah Celona of Bible Baptist School will attend Appalachian Bible College.
Trinity High School graduate Jacob Coen will attend Providence College.
Daniel Combs, a graduate of Greencastle-Antrim High School, will attend Ohio State University.
Shippensburg Area Senior High School graduate Kara Dubbs will attend Pennsylvania State University.
Cassie Fernelius, a Shippensburg High School graduate, will attend Brigham Young University.
Carlisle High School graduate Taylor Frombaugh will attend Millersville University.
Joseph Kurtz, a Mechanicsburg Area Senior High School graduate, will attend Pennsylvania State University.
Cumberland Valley High School graduate Amisha Lala will attend Lebanon Valley College.
Sarah Loy, a Greenwood High School graduate, will attend Colgate University.
Allison Moyer, a graduate of Mechanicsburg Area Senior High School, will attend Columbia University.
Camp Hill High School graduate Elizabeth Nace will attend the University of Pennsylvania.
Adrian Paskey, a Boiling Springs High School graduate, will attend Pennsylvania State University.
Daniel Ridenour, Smithsburg High School graduate, will attend West Virginia University in the fall.
Newport High School student Victoria Harris will attend Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
Hannah Noss, also of Newport High School, will attend Pennsylvania State University

For more information about the Orrstown Bank Foundation, please contact Mr. Ken Shoemaker at 717.258.4920 or by email at kshoemaker@orrstown.com.

With over $1.5 billion in assets, Orrstown Financial Services, Inc. and its wholly subsidiary, Orrstown Bank, provide a full range of consumer and business financial services through twenty-one banking offices and two remote service facilities located in Cumberland, Franklin and Perry Counties, Pennsylvania and Washington County, Maryland.  Orrstown Financial Services, Inc.’s stock is quoted on the NASDAQ Capital Market under the symbol ORRF.




Author : C.Stine

Source :

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark